Meet the 95 97 biggest homophobes in the US House

Two more haters signed on yesterday:

Rep Price, Tom [GA-6] – 3/16/2011
Rep Rigell, E. Scott [VA-2] – 3/16/2011

This morning, there are press conferences on the House and Senate sides of the Capitol to mark the introduction of DOMA repeal legislation.

And, the haters are working on DOMA, too. The way, way too gay-obsessed freshman Congresswoman from Missouri, Vicky Hartzler, introduced a resolution demanding that the President defend DOMA. She’s got all the real whackos on her side, of course, from Steve King to Michele Bachmann. As of this morning there are 94 co-sponsors. This list pretty much comprises the biggest homophobes in the U.S. House of Representatives. As of now, they’re all Republicans. The list is also an indication that the newly elected teabaggers are not just focused on fiscal issues. A number of the cosponsors are freshmen (for example, Sean Duffy (WI), Kristi Noem (SD), Tim Scott (GA) and many more.) So, yeah, the teabaggers are hard-core right-wingers on social issues, too. We’ll update the list when and if more cosponsors are added.

Now, these legislators don’t care (or don’t know) that the times are changing on same-sex marriage — or that “the wedge has lost its edge.” They hate the gays and nothing will stop them. It’s pure bigotry. For some of them, rhetorical and legislative gay-bashing is a passion, even an obsession. Below is the list of cosponsors (The date next to their name indicates when the member signed on to the resolution). I’d bet a number of them have gay staffers and some probably have gay relatives. They all have LGBT constituents. But, homophobia rules:

Rep Adams, Sandy [FL-24] – 3/11/2011
Rep Akin, W. Todd [MO-2] – 3/8/2011
Rep Austria, Steve [OH-7] – 3/11/2011
Rep Bachmann, Michele [MN-6] – 3/8/2011
Rep Bachus, Spencer [AL-6] – 3/8/2011
Rep Bartlett, Roscoe G. [MD-6] – 3/8/2011
Rep Barton, Joe [TX-6] – 3/11/2011
Rep Benishek, Dan [MI-1] – 3/11/2011
Rep Bishop, Rob [UT-1] – 3/8/2011
Rep Black, Diane [TN-6] – 3/11/2011
Rep Blackburn, Marsha [TN-7] – 3/8/2011
Rep Brooks, Mo [AL-5] – 3/8/2011
Rep Buerkle, Ann Marie [NY-25] – 3/8/2011
Rep Burgess, Michael C. [TX-26] – 3/15/2011
Rep Burton, Dan [IN-5] – 3/8/2011
Rep Canseco, Francisco “Quico” [TX-23] – 3/15/2011
Rep Carter, John R. [TX-31] – 3/8/2011
Rep Chabot, Steve [OH-1] – 3/15/2011
Rep Coffman, Mike [CO-6] – 3/15/2011
Rep Cole, Tom [OK-4] – 3/8/2011
Rep Conaway, K. Michael [TX-11] – 3/11/2011
Rep Crawford, Eric A. “Rick” [AR-1] – 3/11/2011
Rep Denham, Jeff [CA-19] – 3/8/2011
Rep DesJarlais, Scott [TN-4] – 3/8/2011
Rep Duffy, Sean P. [WI-7] – 3/15/2011
Rep Duncan, Jeff [SC-3] – 3/8/2011
Rep Ellmers, Renee L. [NC-2] – 3/11/2011
Rep Fincher, Stephen Lee [TN-8] – 3/11/2011
Rep Flake, Jeff [AZ-6] – 3/11/2011
Rep Fleischmann, Charles J. “Chuck” [TN-3] – 3/8/2011
Rep Fleming, John [LA-4] – 3/11/2011
Rep Flores, Bill [TX-17] – 3/8/2011
Rep Forbes, J. Randy [VA-4] – 3/15/2011
Rep Foxx, Virginia [NC-5] – 3/11/2011
Rep Franks, Trent [AZ-2] – 3/8/2011
Rep Garrett, Scott [NJ-5] – 3/15/2011
Rep Gibbs, Bob [OH-18] – 3/8/2011
Rep Gingrey, Phil [GA-11] – 3/8/2011
Rep Gowdy, Trey [SC-4] – 3/8/2011
Rep Graves, Sam [MO-6] – 3/11/2011
Rep Graves, Tom [GA-9] – 3/11/2011
Rep Griffin, Tim [AR-2] – 3/8/2011
Rep Griffith, H. Morgan [VA-9] – 3/15/2011
Rep Hall, Ralph M. [TX-4] – 3/15/2011
Rep Harris, Andy [MD-1] – 3/11/2011
Rep Huelskamp, Tim [KS-1] – 3/8/2011
Rep Huizenga, Bill [MI-2] – 3/8/2011
Rep Hultgren, Randy [IL-14] – 3/11/2011
Rep Issa, Darrell E. [CA-49] – 3/11/2011
Rep Johnson, Bill [OH-6] – 3/11/2011
Rep Johnson, Sam [TX-3] – 3/8/2011
Rep Jones, Walter B., Jr. [NC-3] – 3/11/2011
Rep Jordan, Jim [OH-4] – 3/8/2011
Rep Kelly, Mike [PA-3] – 3/11/2011
Rep King, Steve [IA-5] – 3/8/2011
Rep Kingston, Jack [GA-1] – 3/11/2011
Rep Labrador, Raul R. [ID-1] – 3/15/2011
Rep Lamborn, Doug [CO-5] – 3/11/2011
Rep Lankford, James [OK-5] – 3/15/2011
Rep Latta, Robert E. [OH-5] – 3/8/2011
Rep Luetkemeyer, Blaine [MO-9] – 3/11/2011
Rep Manzullo, Donald A. [IL-16] – 3/15/2011
Rep Marchant, Kenny [TX-24] – 3/11/2011
Rep McCotter, Thaddeus G. [MI-11] – 3/11/2011
Rep McHenry, Patrick T. [NC-10] – 3/8/2011
Rep McKeon, Howard P. “Buck” [CA-25] – 3/11/2011
Rep McKinley, David B. [WV-1] – 3/11/2011
Rep McMorris Rodgers, Cathy [WA-5] – 3/8/2011
Rep Mulvaney, Mick [SC-5] – 3/8/2011
Rep Myrick, Sue Wilkins [NC-9] – 3/11/2011
Rep Neugebauer, Randy [TX-19] – 3/11/2011
Rep Noem, Kristi L. [SD] – 3/11/2011
Rep Nunnelee, Alan [MS-1] – 3/11/2011
Rep Olson, Pete [TX-22] – 3/11/2011
Rep Pearce, Stevan [NM-2] – 3/8/2011
Rep Pence, Mike [IN-6] – 3/11/2011
Rep Pitts, Joseph R. [PA-16] – 3/8/2011
Rep Pompeo, Mike [KS-4] – 3/11/2011
Rep Roby, Martha [AL-2] – 3/11/2011
Rep Roe, David P. [TN-1] – 3/8/2011
Rep Rogers, Mike D. [AL-3] – 3/8/2011
Rep Rokita, Todd [IN-4] – 3/11/2011
Rep Ross, Dennis [FL-12] – 3/11/2011
Rep Schmidt, Jean [OH-2] – 3/11/2011
Rep Scott, Austin [GA-8] – 3/15/2011
Rep Scott, Tim [SC-1] – 3/11/2011
Rep Southerland, Steve [FL-2] – 3/11/2011
Rep Stearns, Cliff [FL-6] – 3/8/2011
Rep Stutzman, Marlin A. [IN-3] – 3/11/2011
Rep Walberg, Tim [MI-7] – 3/11/2011
Rep Walsh, Joe [IL-8] – 3/8/2011
Rep Westmoreland, Lynn A. [GA-3] – 3/8/2011
Rep Wilson, Joe [SC-2] – 3/11/2011
Rep Woodall, Rob [GA-7] – 3/11/2011

On October 27, 2010, Joe was one of five bloggers who interviewed President Obama. Joe is a DC-based political consultant with over twenty-five years of experience at both the state and federal level. Joe has managed political operations and legislative efforts for both candidates and issues-based organizations. For seven years, he was the Director of State Legislation at Handgun Control, Inc. He served as that organization's first Political Director during the 2000 cycle. Joe is a graduate of the University of Maine School of Law. In addition, he has a Masters in Public Administration from Lehigh University and received his B.A. from the University of New Hampshire. Joe also has a fun dog, Petey, a worthy successor to Boomer, who got Joe through eight years of Bush and Cheney. Joe likes to think he is a world class athlete having finished the 2005 Chicago Marathon in the time of 4:10. He has completed six other marathons as well -- and is still determined to break the four hour mark.

Share This Post

© 2014 AMERICAblog News. All rights reserved. · Entries RSS